I need to be able to type in text box and for the list box to show me all similar text. No VBA )-: (1 Viewer)

Lah_01

Local time
Today, 17:52
Hi all,

I am quite new to Access and the VBA world but managed to create a lovely form using VBA in excel. My work place has disabled macros so when I took the file to work it would not work. I decided I would use Access (better for what we are doing anyway). I have recreated the form however the search option I originally used was a combo box with a command (search button). You start typing in the combo box and when the correct item is chosen in the list you press search and the form populates with specific fields for that record.

The Problem
The problem with this is when there are two similar texts in the combo list. The form populates record 1 as a default. This is very annoying. In the excel form I created using VBA you could type in text box and the list would decrease showing all the possible options that match the text in the listbox. From there you could choose the correct one.

Is there anyway I can recreate this using only the macro builder (No VBA) in Access?

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 12:52
Access works the same way if you are not using any code to alter the behavior.

Lah_01

Local time
Access works the same way if you are not using any code to alter the behavior.
Sorry are you saying it will work or it won't work. It was working perfectly in excel but in Access I don't know how to do this without VBA code unless I use the combo box method and that method is glitchy.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 11:52
Pat's comment was that Access VBA and Excel VBA both are VBA and work the same way. The control objects (such as combo boxes or text boxes) work the same way. The difference between Access VBA and Excel VBA is whatever specific object the VBA code is working on, not VBA itself.