Need help with a form. Combo box not updating to related table... (1 Viewer)

oZone

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:04
I'm new to access, still learning, just learned about forms this past week and am practicing building one that lets a user update or add new orders to existing customer orders, but it isnt working rite.

The form works for the most part, but there is one field that doesnt populate to a related table when I update the form (unsure why) and needed some help out why.

I've attached a sample database with the form. To add an order, the user should select the customer number first, then hit the "Add New Order" button, then enter a new order number, then move onto the subform where they can select items, enter quantity ordered, and prices.

As it is now, after selecting the customer number from a combo box and entering all the information for the new order, I check the Orders table and it shows the new order number, and date, but the Customer Number field is blank?

The form should populate the customer number along with the order date and order number to the Orders table but the customer number is being lost somewhere along the way... :confused:

Help?

Thanks!:rolleyes:

Attachments

• oZone.zip
    42.6 KB · Views: 163

John Big Booty

AWF VIP
Local time
Tomorrow, 02:04
If you are talking about cboCustomerNum youv'e not actually bound to any thing.

oZone

Registered User.
Local time
yeah, thats the combo box i'm having trouble with. how would I bind it to something, and what would i bind it too?

John Big Booty

AWF VIP
Local time
You will need to bind it to your Orders Table, in which case you will need a field to store your Customer number.

The Combo Box Wizard should walk you through the process.

oZone

Registered User.
Local time
There is a field in the Orders table for customer numbers already, but after i've created a new combo box to select the customer number, it doesnt work. It gives me an error.