Opening a form in a library and retrieving a returned value (1 Viewer)

KitaYama

Local time
Today, 10:04
I'm studying the possible ways of adding an accdb (or accde) as a library to an existing database, opening a form that's located in the library, and returning the contents of a textbox on the form to the main database.

Any kind of reading material, advice or sample database is much appreciated.

What I've done so far:
1- I wasn't able to find a way to open the form directly from the main database. Is it possible?
2- I added a function to the library that opens the form. Then called this function from the main database. But now I'm stuck on how to return the value of a textbox to main database.
3- Because of the nature of the process, I can not use openform with acDialog parameter to freeze the code and then get the value on its close event.

Thanks again.

MarkK

bit cruncher
Local time
Yesterday, 18:04
If your library contains a function that returns a reference to the form, then consumers of your library can manipulate that reference.

From a public function in your library, you can return a public class that raises events. That class can open the form, handle that form's events, and then raise events in your FE that return the values or properties of that form. Then consumers of your library can handle those events.

tvanstiphout

Local time
Here is a quick and dirty example.
Compile testLib to .accde.
Open testApp, and fix up the reference to that library.
Run _modTestOnly.test1Form

Attachments

• LibraryDatabase.zip
    71.1 KB · Views: 32

KitaYama

Local time
and then raise events in your FE that return the values or properties of that form
I think it's the key to my problem. Finding a way that a class raise an event if FE.
Thanks. I'll research on this.

DickyP

Local time
Today, 02:04