Opening report to pg based on form (1 Viewer)

Cicak

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 12:10
A bit of background: I'm relatively new to Access and with regards to code I know only how to follow directions. I'm using the 2003 version of Access.

Hi,

I've seen something like this in a sample database, but I don't know how they do it:

Once the user is done filling up the form, a button can be clicked, which causes a report to appear. The report presents the data from that record in the form, on one page, and doesn't show the other records.

I have been trying to create this effect. In my case, there is a form (called Mainform), into which users type information about purchase orders (POs). I also have a report (POReport), where each individual page shows information for one PO. On Mainform, a button should open the report according to the PO number of the record being viewed. PO number is a field present on both Mainform and POReport. The button has an "Open Report" macro under the "on click" event.

What can be done to cause the 'correct' page of the report to open? I tried putting "[POTable].[PONumber]" under the criteria argument of the Open Report macro (POTable acts as the source of the form Mainform). But when I click the button I am prompted for something about the PO number. Then when this is entered, the entire report is shown, not just the relevant page.. :(

Sorry if this post is in the wrong place and if it isn't very clear.

Any hints/help is much appreciated..
Thanks in advance!

boblarson

Smeghead
Local time
Just call the report like this:

DoCmd.OpenReport "YourReportName", acViewPreview,,"[PONumber]=" & Me!PONumber

Cicak

Registered User.
Local time
When I tried it I got:
Run-time error "3464"
Data type mismatch in criteria expression

When I click 'debug', the line is highlighted in yellow. If I add brackets so that it looks like 'DoCmd.OpenReport("POReport", acViewPreview, , "[PONumber] = " & Me!PONumber)' then the words are turned red.