Option Explicit (1 Viewer)

Ilovexfiles

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:07
Im new to vba. Im halfway through building my database and have realized how important "option explicit" is, which I have not been using, and am still trying to grasp the concept of.

I'm thinking of turning it on now to use moving forward and figure out along the way, or is it imperative that I add it to the coding ive already completed?
Thanks

Galaxiom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Tomorrow, 08:07
Add it everywhere. Then any error in your variable names will be thrown at Compile time instead of waiting until it is run.

You can probably use a Find and Replace across the whole project to change

Option Compare Database

to

Option Explicit
Option Compare Database

Orthodox Dave

Home Developer
Local time
Today, 23:07
You need to do what Galaxiom says for all existing code. The statement doesn't have to be put into every individual procedure, just at the top of the page of each module for which you have code - under Option Compare Database as in
Code:
Option Compare Database
Option Explicit
Then if you set the VBA Tools as in the attached picture, it will be set automatically for all future code you write.

Attachments

• OptionExplicit.jpg
    OptionExplicit.jpg
    104.4 KB · Views: 89

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
if you do not set "option explicit" then all undefined variables are created as variant types.

Having "rogue" variable makes debugging hard, and can cause unwanted side effevts - as also can incorrect variable typing.

I cannot think of any reason not to require variable calculation. It's probably only an option not to have it, because of the historical links to the original Basic language.

Ilovexfiles

Registered User.
Local time
Thank you, I just set the default to Option Explicit.
I have entered declared variables at the top of module. Do I need to add it to each procedure too? Also the Integers below are actually drop downs.