Please Wait...Processing Form (1 Viewer)

chewy

SuperNintendo Chalmers
Local time
Today, 15:15
Joined
Mar 8, 2002
Messages
581
I made a form to launch right before I am going to write to a file that takes about 5 or more seconds and want to display a form that says it is processing. I can do this but the form does load but it doesn't fully load the caption so anyone can see it. How can I force it to fully load before proceeding?

Here is what I use

DoCmd.OpenForm "frmProcessing", acNormal, , , , acWindowNormal

Thanks
 

chewy

SuperNintendo Chalmers
Local time
Today, 15:15
Joined
Mar 8, 2002
Messages
581
thanks again!
 

chewy

SuperNintendo Chalmers
Local time
Today, 15:15
Joined
Mar 8, 2002
Messages
581
I got that working, but how do I implement a cancel button to allow the user to cancel if they back out during it?
 
M

mission2java_78

Guest
chewy said:
I got that working, but how do I implement a cancel button to allow the user to cancel if they back out during it?
:confused:

Drop a button on your form...and call it "Cancel"
click event

DoCmd.Close acForm, "frmYourForm"

Jon
 

chewy

SuperNintendo Chalmers
Local time
Today, 15:15
Joined
Mar 8, 2002
Messages
581
I tried doing that before but it wont let me click the button. Here is the code that I use to open the processing form


Dim intI As Integer

For intI = 1 To 244 ' Start loop.
If intI Mod 25 = 0 Then ' If loop has repeated 100 times.
DoEvents ' Yield to operating system.
DoCmd.OpenForm "frmProcessing", acNormal, , , , acWindowNormal
End If
Next intI ' Increment loop counter.
 
M

mission2java_78

Guest
Try Doevents after opening the form.
I dont know if access will allow you to break that process

Jon
 

chewy

SuperNintendo Chalmers
Local time
Today, 15:15
Joined
Mar 8, 2002
Messages
581
still doesnt let me
 
M

mission2java_78

Guest
i dunno if access will let you..its not multishtreaded.

Jon
 

Vassago

Former Staff Turned AWF Retiree
Local time
Today, 10:15
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
4,748
The only way I know to make this happen is to hit CTRL+BREAK to end the code. Access likes to finish one function before moving on to another.

Hope that helps!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom