Prefix + AutoNumber as Item Code (1 Viewer)

johannaellamay

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 00:58
Hi, I'm making a new database and I want to assign Item Codes to my inventory. For example:

ItemCode (Primary Key) | Item | ItemDescription

I want to generate an automated item code containing the first letter of the Item (as prefix) followed by numbers. Example:

ItemCode: P001
Item: Paper
ItemDesciption: Ordinary white paper

Please help.
I'm a newbie.:confused:

vbaInet

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 17:58
If the item and item description will never change, then you can use the Left() function to get the first letter of the item and join it using ampersand "&". You also have to put some constraints on the length of the Item Description and ensure the Item and Item Description are not duplicated.

Welcome to the forum! :)

GinaWhipp

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 12:58
Welcome to the Forum! :)

Hmm, what you want is to use Autonumber for the PK and then generate an ItemCode. Safer that way.

Now, a few things here. Your ItemCode, do you plan on never haiving more than 999 Items that start with *P*? See the problem? Because that will be the problem for the entire list, no letter can go beyond 999 without becoming a huge issue.

Are they going to click a button to add a new tiem or use a navigation button or maybe you're opening a seperate Form to add new?

Here's some air code...

Code:
[FONT=Segoe UI]        Dim lngMyNumber As Long[/FONT]
[FONT=Segoe UI] [/FONT]
[FONT=Segoe UI]        strMyNumber = Nz(DCount("Right(ItemCode,3),", "tblItems", "Left(ItemCode,1) = '" & Left(Me.txtItemCode, 1) & "'"), 0) + 1[/FONT]
[FONT=Segoe UI] [/FONT]
[FONT=Segoe UI]        Me.txtItemCode = StrConv(Trim(Left(Me.txtItemCode, 1)), vbUpperCase) & Format(lngMyNumber, "000")[/FONT]
[FONT=Segoe UI]        DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSaveRecord[/FONT]

vbaInet

AWF VIP
Local time
Oh so this isn't a combination of the Item and Item Description!

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member