Sigh... STOP!!! (1 Viewer)

Moniker

VBA Pro
Local time
Yesterday, 23:21
Not too long ago, I wrote a top ten ways to make sure your question was never answered. I'm going to append it.

1) "Help Plz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" does not an answer give.
2) http://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=85042
3) "I'm totally new to VBA" is not an excuse when you're asking for VBA. Someone providing you with the code teaches you nothing. Show code, show where you're stuck, show something.
4) Stop telling us how new you are and do not do suck up ("You guys are so great, and I've learned so much blah blah blah"). We know why we answer. If someone helped you before, reference that, and that's it.
5) The subject is just that. The freakin' subject. Remember that. "I'm stuck" is a bad subject. "Help with error resolution" is better.
6) We do this for free. Remember that.
7) Cross-posting -- not such a good idea.
8) Never, ever ask that posts are sent to email addresses. Are you that lazy?
9) Explain, in detail, what the issue is. The posts that are like, "I have this table where I query it, and it doesn't work!" followed by the query have no clear purpose. Make sure you know what you are asking for.
10) For god's sake, try to figure it out on your own. None of the stellar answer people (myself, boblarson, docman, rural guy, and the others I'm forgetting) got this way off of message boards alone. Yes, questions were asked (most likely before this place existed), but for the most part, programming is a self-tutorial through trial and error.

Rabbie

Super Moderator
Local time
Today, 05:21
Note to all newcomers to this forum like myself.

Read mark learn and inwardly digest.

This advice is so good

S

Sharks2431

I disagree with #4. Not that I'm a person who answers complicated questions. My knowledge is growing but still very limited.