Simple Stock Control (1 Viewer)

timbl

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:03
Help needed with Simple Stock Control

Hi, help needed for holiday project!!
I am trying to create a very simple stock control database for controlling the stock level and amounts of fabric used from rolls.
I need to log the amount of cloth used, update the running total of cloth left on the roll, record the job number, how much was lost due to flaws/errors etc.
I can create tables forms etc but I have no idea how to create a simple running total field that updates when a job has been cut.

I am not a programmer but have created databases before using the help on this site.

My database will consist of just 2 tables
Cloth table with fields such as supplier, batch number delivery date etc and another table for useage where I will have a running total, Job number, amount used, amount lost, date cut, cut by etc

Examples that I have seen all seem over complicated for what I need to do. Any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited:

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 15:03
My database will consist of just 2 tables

Write a description of the business processes as you visualize them in plain English.
Identify what is involved in each step, and how the steps relate to each other. Basically, build a blueprint or artist's concept of the business your database will support.

In very general terms it sounds like you have:

Supplier(s) of Rolls of Materials (purchase of stock)
Customer(s) who buy units of Material (sales)
A variety of types of Material(s)
Special Order(s) of specialty Material(s)
ReOrder of Material(s) in anticipation of Sales
Employee(s)
Possibly Invoice(s)/Credit

Just some thoughts for consideration.

timbl

Registered User.
Local time
We are sailmakers and have stock of different rolls of fabric which is used to cut for new sails.