Statement Interpretation [ ] ! [ ], [ ] . [ ] and CDbl (1 Viewer)

stanhook

Local time
Today, 15:56
HI,

I am trying to work with an access 2007 database and update a website. I have a bunch of queries I need to interpret and bring them up to date. Can someone please tell me what this means:

Code:
CDbl(IIf(IsNumeric( [tblSU]![SUNum]),[tblSU]![SUNum],
Left([tblSU]![SUNum],
  InStr(1,[tblSU]![SUNum],'-')-1)
)
)

I am new to this and found that CDbl means to convert a value to a double which still make very little sense to me even with the examples I have found. It also seems that the Left command returns a specified number of characters from the left side of a string. A Little more clear but I am still not sure what this is trying to accomplish. This is even more confusing - [tblSU]![SUNum]),[tblSU]![SUNum] If I could know what the statement is saying I hopefully would be able to see what I might be able to do moving forward. I have a bunch but this is a start.

This is an example of another one:

Code:
IIf([tblmap].[mapelec],'Digital Maps',IIf([tblmap].[mappaper],'Paper Maps','Other Maps'))

I know that it is saying something like evaluate this and if it is true then assign it this value. Again it is this - [tblmap].[mapelec] that is giving me the trouble.

Thanks for the help!

Last edited:

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 20:56
I will take a stab st it.

Work from the inside out.
If tblSU]![SUNum] is numeric, then use that field, if not find the - character and take everything before that (presumably the numeric part).
Then convert it to Double.

If [tblmap].[mapelec] is True (or not zero), set to Digital Maps, else if if not and [tblmap].[mappaper] is True (or non zero) then set to Paper Maps, else Other Maps.

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 11:56
I will guess that [mapelec] and [mappaper] are Yes/No fields in [tblMap] so the fields will evaluate as True or False in the IIf() expression.

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.