I'm a complete novice... help with gohyperlink? (1 Viewer)

joeshaw123

Local time
Today, 19:10
Hi all,

Found this forums on my search to uncover what I am doing wrong.
I am a complete beginner at using access and VBA, but have been thrust into this position and need to get my head round some basic things!

I'll explain what I need to achieve first:
I have a inventory/stock/sales/purchasing system running on an SQL back end, kindly developed by a former colleague of a colleague. The system itself is running fine, but I have been tasked with tweaking it to add in additional functionality that doesn't affect the running of the existing system.

In short, I have a form named MRP_Inventory, in which you can go through all products that we manufacture/order/sell. I have added in a field called MI_Hyplink, to which a text box named Hyplink is attached, which contains the network path to the PDF file of the technical drawing of the selected component; and obviously the file path changes for each record.

I have used Allen Browne's GoHyperlink (allenbrowne.com/func-GoHyperlink.html[/url]) on the click of a button to treat the file path as a hyperlink.
The code on the button is simply

Private Sub Command57_Click()

Call GoHyperlink(Me.Hyplink)

End Sub

And it has been working! I had only used it on one record and it opened the PDF file up in Adobe Reader as it should. I have since, however, attempted to just fill in other records with their corresponding link, and all I get is error 87: an unexpected error has occurred
Meanwhile, the original one was working fine. I copied the link from the original record into a new one, and it still wouldn't work on the new record. I deleted the link on the original record and replaced it with EXACTLY the same file path and now nothing works at all!