Adding a Auto increment Text/Number (1 Viewer)

elliotth123

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 07:03
I have a daabase that I am importing via excel. I want the entries to be numbered
ex: MT0001
MT0002
etc....

I would like it to promt the user for the last number(or next number in sequence) entered, then fill in the blank records with the next increment number.
The prefix will also change to so eventually the user would enter into the prompt RD0001. then autofill the 140 imported records with RD0002, rd0003... etc....

I can't really make seperate fields because the MT0001 number will become a barcode and putting them seperate causes many issues.

can this be done? Any help would be great I am still a beginner but slowly learning!
Thanks!

FLabrecque

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:03
This could be possible, through VBA. I'm not sure this would be the fastest or more normalize, but it should get the job done.

1. Import the Excel spreadsheet into Access with an autoincrement ID number (supposing your Excel file doesn't contain the MT001, MT002).
2. Add a column to the imported table.
3. Update the column, set NEWCOL = 'MT' & format(ID,'0000').

Et voila!

FLabrecque

Registered User.
Local time
Another possiblity could be to simply format it in the queries. For example:

SELECT 'MT' & Format(ID, '0000') as MyID
FROM ...

elliotth123

Registered User.
Local time
Help!

I kind of understand what you are saying but, this won't allow it to prompt the user for the prefix.
What about an update query that will take the first blank record and insert an id (it will get this via a txt box on a form). Then increment the number portion until the null boxes are gone. Then for the next section that gets imported it will ask again for the first number to input tehn do the same increment the number that has been input by the user till all null vales are full.
Is this possible? ANy ideas how?

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time