Access 2010 - Active Directory Lookup (1 Viewer)

Armaganon00

Local time
Today, 03:28
Hello,
I have a database that, I would like to add a button that performs a active directory lookup. I would like it to check a username with Active Directory, and auto populate a few fields.

First Name
Last Name
Manager
Department

This is my first database and I have very little exp using VBA. So if any one could help me out, or point me in the right direction.

Armaganon00

Local time
The sad part is that I barely know what I am looking at. That site looks check ad against a group. But I have no idea how to take pieces of code that I need.

Galaxiom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 18:28
Search this forum for LDAP and my username. I have posted here many times on the subject.

Armaganon00

Local time
Search this forum for LDAP and my username. .

I have spent many hours reading through these forms. I have no Idea what to edit or what code aplies to my situation. I am a VBA noob.

I have a form that I would like to putton a button that checks the username field and populates several other fields. If the username does not check out then it puts up a message box.

Here is some code i found: So how do I call it? What do I edit?
Private Sub Command25_Click()
Dim objRecordSet As Object
Dim objCommand As Object
Dim objConnection As Object

Const ADS_SCOPE_SUBTREE = 2

Set objConnection = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
Set objCommand = CreateObject("ADODB.Command")
objConnection.Provider = "ADsDSOObject"
objConnection.Open "Active Directory Provider"
Set objCommand.ActiveConnection = objConnection

objCommand.Properties("Page Size") = 1000
objCommand.Properties("Searchscope") = ADS_SCOPE_SUBTREE
objCommand.Properties("Sort On") = "displayname"

objCommand.CommandText = _
"SELECT GivenName, displayname FROM 'LDAP://OU=Users,OU=NB,OU=NA,OU=Fluor,DC=fdnet,DC=com' WHERE objectCategory='user'"

Set objRecordSet = objCommand.Execute

objRecordSet.MoveFirst