Adding Calculated fields (1 Viewer)

M

mslatter

I am relatively new to Access so forgive me if this is a stupid question. I am creating a report that pulls data from my Man Hour table. Each day, employees hours will be added to the table.

If I have a report that shows each Employee's hours by week 1 and week 2, and then want to total them up for a Period Total (week 1 & 2), how can I total the actual 'controls' for each week. E.g. If an employee worked 45 hours in week one, my control total for week one shows 40 regular hours and then a seperate control shows 5 hours overtime. Then if they work 40 hours in week 2, how can I total week 1 and 2 to show 80 regular hours and 5 hours overtime?
I see the controls I want added on my report but am having a really hard time telling access how I want them totalled. All I can get it to do is total all the records to show 85 hours.

Any help is very much appreciated.

MSSS

R

Richie

Add a text box to the report, set its control source to =[Field1]+[Field2],set running sum over group.

M

mslatter

Thanks Richie, I don't think I explained myself very well. I have for example, 5 employees with payroll figured out by week and added together for every 2 weeks. So for example:

Employee 1
Week 1
Mon 8hrs
Tue 8hrs
Wed 8hrs
Thur 8hrs
Fri 8hrs
Sat 8hrs
------------------------------------
Totals 40 Regular 8 Overtime Reg$ OT$

Week 2
Mon 8hrs
Tue 8hrs
Wed 8hrs
---------------------------------------------
Totals 24 Regular 0 Overtime Reg$ OT$
-------------------------------------------------------------
Period Totals 64 Regular 8 Overtime Reg$total Reg$OT

Next Employee....e.t.c.
(I don't know how this will look on the site? Hopefully readable.)