Best way for importing Statements (1 Viewer)

silentwolf

Local time
Today, 12:25
Hi guys,

I am new to SQL Server so please be patient with me lol )

In the past I did all my work in Access and VBA however I do like to migrate to SQL Server and am learing at present.

I need to import Statements into my application for the moment I am using C#.

What I am not sure of is what is the best way of importing Data to SQL Server.

1. I download those Statements from my Bank in CSV file format.
2. Those Statements need to be updated, some string need to be deleted as they are unnessesary
3. Some other Data need to be updated and and put into new fields

As I am from Austria we have those nice (German Umlaute) Ä,Ö,Ü and so on..

So my question is as there are so many different ways of doing stuff how would you go about it?

Would you use CSV to import into SQL Server
Or would you Change the CSV To Excel Xls or Xlsx format and work with that format

I was able to have it all worked out with VBA but with C# and SQL Server I am new and get problems with Encouding those (German Umlaute)

It would be very helpful if someone could get me into the right path so I am not running in Circles.

Many thanks for your help in advance

Albert

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 19:25
I have done this on a larger scale for a client.

You can take the CSV import it into a temporary access table, manipulate it then upload the corrected data directly into your SQL table.
You can automate almost all of this apart from the corrections you are making.

Link Access to your SQL Server and you can link all the tables, views, etc. and update delete and query all the data exactly as you would from an Access table.

silentwolf

Local time
Hi,

thanks for your reply!
Ok so you are using Access as a in between step so to say?

Can you run in a C# Application or better automate from a C# Application Access as well?
So automate it from within the C# Application?

Thanks

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time