Best way to add new records to table B when active form bound to table A (1 Viewer)

adam.arca

Local time
Yesterday, 18:34
Hope the title makes sense. I'm really a beginner to all this so please do accept my apologies in advance if it's all a bit basic and / or just plain wrong.

So, I have a main form which is bound to tblCustomers (table "A" in the title). There are various sub forms pulling in data from related tables. So far, so easy. Going forwards, what I would really prefer to have is a situation where this is the only form on display to prevent users (me, mainly) from having to flick between forms.

What I want to do next is have an electronic time card and add hours spent working on customer projects. These time records will be posted to tblHours (table "B").

I can think of 3 ways to approach this but am really not sure which is the "best."

Option 1 is to have unbound controls on the main form in order to be consistent with the design imperative of one form only on display. But this would involve the most programming as I would need code to a) query tblHours for the underlying data (the time card for the week to date) upon form_load and b) add new time records to tblHours as created and then re-query for the time card data.

Option 2 is to ignore the design imperative and have a separate, bound form for the time card. Presumably, in this case, I could code the main form and the time card form to open in pre-set and separate parts of the screen so that their combined footprint would be the same as the one, larger main form under option 1?

And option 3 is the compromise one: stick with the one main form but insert the time card form as a sub form of the main form. If the child and master fields are left blank, then presumably the time card sub form would still pull through its own bound data?

Does any of that make any sense to anyone? Are there other options? What would people who've done this before recommend?