tblAthletes -- AthletesID, FirstName, Surname, CountryID, M/F
tblSports -- SportID, Sport
tblEvents -- EventID, Event, VenueID, SportID
tblVenues -- VenueID, Venue, Location
tblMedals -- MedalID, MedalType
tblResults -- ResultID, AthleteID, MedalID, EventID

Primary Keys - Bold
Foreign Keys - Italic

This is the tables in my database, it is a database of the upcoming Beijing Olympics.
I am aiming to have a medal count for each country which is in the current database.
As it has the capabilities to expand therefore I am trying to avoid the need to create a whole new query for each country I add, also it would be preferable to be able to have all of the countries on the same report, so that I can compare the totals.
Is there some way I can count the total of each group of records (each country) for the field where 'MedalType' = "Gold", "Silver" and "Bronze". Also the calculation needs to be done before the report so that I can order by the total.
I am new to this so can answers be preferably in layman's terms.

Dennisk

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 22:46
use a total query and group by country. you could also group by country and by medal type. Then you need a count so just count up the primary keys.

$t3ff

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 07:46
How in the count, can i make it have seperate counts for each country?

jazi

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:46
Sums and expressions maybe?