Connecting tables other that ODBC method (1 Viewer)

Ashfaque

Student
Local time
Today, 10:09
Hi,

I would like to know if there are some code lines that could help in establishing connection between server tables into Access db whiile opening.
And disconnect after closing.

I know the ODBC linking method but it increase the MDE size and stays onnected even the db is swithced off.

I am using Access as FE and SQL Server Desktip version as BE (no password set up to log in server or its dbs. Just windows log in used).

With kind regards,
Ashfaque

pdx_man

Just trying to help
Local time
Yesterday, 21:39
Ashfaque said:
I know the ODBC linking method but it increase the MDE size and stays onnected even the db is swithced off.

Huh, this is news to me. Do you have any documentation to support this? Have you tried doing a compact & repair after linking and before making your MDE file? Have you tried doing a compact & repair AFTER making your MDE file?

I am a DBA at my company and I monitor the connection very closely. Linked table connections via ODBC or any other method do not stay connected if the DB is not open. Even if the DB is open, a connection is only created when the table or another object referencing the table is instanciated. Even using ADO, the connection will be dropped when the DB is closed.

Ashfaque

Student
Local time
pdx,

I tried MDB compression already then created MDE. I even did not use any picture into the forms. But the tables connected into the database holds huge records. Say around 400,000 records in each table and almost I have 27 tables.

I believe tables that linked thru ODBC has increased size of my db. Even the db is closed the size is same. I tried removing link and just checked the size. It reduced to 1/5 size of previous.

Thanks

Last edited:

pdx_man

Just trying to help
Local time
Yesterday, 21:39