Continuous form not updating table (1 Viewer)

mcomp72

Local time
Today, 09:43
I have a continuous form, but when I make a change to it, it doesn't update the table that is tied to it. I decided it was easiest to make a video showing what was happening.

I'm new to Access & databases, so I'm guessing the fix is something really basic that I don't know about yet.

Last edited:

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 17:43
Record has not been saved yet?
Move to a new record and see what happens then.

Excellent description of issue BTW (y)

mcomp72

Local time
Ah... yes, that was it. When I clicked into another record on the form, that fixed it.

Is there a way to have Access update the record immediately after the user clicks into a checkbox? I am guessing I could put some VBA code into the AfterUpdate sub, but I'm not sure what code I would put in.

mcomp72

Local time
I did some digging around the internet and found the code. If I put the below code in the AfterUpdate sub, it solves the issue.

Code:
If Me.Dirty Then Me.Dirty = False

Thank you for the help!

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Just curious - what if the user has clicked a checkbox, and the clicks it again - what do you want to happen?

mcomp72

Local time
Just curious - what if the user has clicked a checkbox, and the clicks it again - what do you want to happen?
When they click that checkbox, it will trigger some code to make a change to another YES/NO field on the Member table called "CurrentOnDues". If they have checked the "Board Member" checkbox, "CurrentOnDues" should change to True. If they have unchecked the "Board Member" check box, it should run some other code. In that case "CurrentOnDues" could be True, but also could be False, so it has to check the date in the "LastDuesPaid" field to determine which it is.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Sorry I asked 😲
I’m sure it makes sense to you but without any context, not to me