Custom Input Box (1 Viewer)

ascaife

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 17:03
I have an existing procedure using transfertext that utilises an input box to prompt for the filename to save to. I would really love to customise the input box to fit in with the overall look of the rest of the application.

Can anyone point me in the direction of some instructions to do this. I'm a novice so as much detail on the code as possible would be great.

Cheers,

Andy

namliam

The Mailman - AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 09:03
Have a search for "file dialog" see if that is what you want...
Alternatively you can design a form you popup before running the query, and draw the information of the form...

Good luck, let me know if you run into problems.

ascaife

Registered User.
Local time
Apparently the file dialog won't work in Access Runtime so that won't be any good.

I'm okay with designing a custom form but not sure how to pass the entered text into the procedure.

I'm using a custom message box which works great, but I had some help putting that in and it comes up using the Dialog.Box instead of MsgBox.

If you could give me some advice as to how the vba would be inserted for the input box that would be great.

My code is as follows:

Private Sub Command4_Click()
DoCmd.TransferText acExportFixed, "VDU", "qryVDU", "C:\Import\VDU.txt", No
DoCmd.CancelEvent
Dim strFilename As String
strFilename = InputBox("Enter VDU File Name:", "FHM")
If Len(strFilename) > 0 Then
strFilename = "C:\Import\" & strFilename
Dim vResponse As VbMsgBoxResult
If Dir(strFilename) = "" Then
Name "C:\Import\VDU.txt" As strFilename
Dialog.Box Prompt:="You have successfully created the VDU file in C:\Import", _
Buttons:=(vbOKOnly + vbInformation), _
Title:="Well Done", _
ButtonDelay:=0

Else
vResponse = Dialog.Box("That file already exists. Would you like to overwrite it?", vbQuestion + vbYesNo, "Overwrite File?")
If vResponse = vbYes Then
Kill strFilename
Name "C:\Import\VDU.txt" As strFilename