Database Documentation Best Practices (1 Viewer)

BigJoe9090

Local time
Today, 11:16
I've been working on a Access database for last 20 years in my business, all self taught skills but I have zero database documentation. Having been self taught documentation never really came up.

It is an Access frontend with data stored in a local MySQL server and used by around 20 people.

There are around 4,000+ items (tables, linked tables, queries etc..) not to mention lots of VBA code.

I am now at the point where I want to start documenting the database for these reasons:
  • I am finding that I am writing VBA functions and queries that already exist.
  • I want to start removing some items from the database that are no-longer in use but not sure how everything is linked.
  • I want to think about passing the database work over to somebody else.

So am I asking for some help.

Where should I start with documentation?
  • Just start with a Word document and start writing?
  • What about putting all database items into Excel and writing a description?
  • 3rd Party tools?
  • Database analyse tools?
How do people keep track of VBA functions/queries you have written in a database and have the ability to look them up?

Database documentation feels like it should be more than just a list of tables and queries with a short sentence explaining what they do, it feels like there should be more details stored on how things work and integrate.

I would really appreciate any help on where to start or links to best practices or resources.

Many thanks

BigJoe

Josef P.

Local time
Today, 12:16
Last edited:

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:16
The best way to start is to start from the beginning. Come up with a desired layout for the document.