Dealing with an empty recordset (1 Viewer)

kully

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 18:45
I am trying to loop through one query (qryMailingList) and using the value in field UserID. I am using this value in my criteria in another query (qryExceptions field:Opportunity Primary Login).

If qryExeptions has records in it, I want to email this to the user using the email address in the field TestEmail

If qryExceptions opens with no records I want to go to the next record in qryMailingList and do the process again until I reach the end of the file.

I am a novice at VB so am struggling a bit. I can't get the bit to work where if there are no records then go to the next record.
The code I have so far is (which doesn't seem to work):

Public Function User()
User = MyUser
End Function

Sub Output_Query()

Dim dbs As DAO.Database
Set dbs = CurrentDb

Dim MailRS As Recordset
Dim ExcRS As Recordset
Dim MyUser As String
Dim MyExc As String

Set MailRS = CurrentDb.OpenRecordset("qryMailingList", dbOpenDynaset)
Set ExcRS = CurrentDb.OpenRecordset("qryExceptions", dbOpenDynaset)

MailRS.MoveFirst
Do Until MailRS.EOF = True

MyUser = MailRS("User ID")

DoCmd.OpenQuery ("qryExceptions")
MyExc = ExcRS("Opportunity Primary Login")

If ExcRS <> Null Then
DoCmd.TransferSpreadsheet
Else

MailRS.MoveNext
End If
Loop
MailRS.Close

End Sub

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Alexandre

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 00:45
You have to use:
If ExcRS.NoMatch Then
to test whether the recordset is empty

kully

Registered User.
Local time
Alex - Thanks for this............

That solved the problem with the empty recordset, but I seem to be doing something wrong as my qryExceptions doesn't open with any records.

Is this line correct....

MyUser = MailRS("User ID")

MailRS is my query qryMailingList and the field User ID is the citeria I want to use in qryExceptions.