Designing a batch production record database (1 Viewer)

biofaku

Local time
Today, 10:01
I'm sailing on a travel that I think I'm not experienced enough to do, so I came here expecting some guidance because after a lot of research on internet, came with few ideas.
I have been tasked with developing a database to track the production history of different items. The main problem is, every item is manufactured differently, every one have different ways to be created, and the parameters that are checked vary a lot from one to another. To rough it up a little more, the recipe may change over time, so with that can change the parameters that one used to follow, that means adding new ones or taking out others.
The idea would be to be able to track the batch number, the production order, which item is being produced and all the variables of the quality control, between other things related to the machinery used on the process.
At first I thought that I should do a EAV db, but I discarded it, later I found some examples of 6NF that could apply, but I'm not sure if its fully applicable to the working scheme its implemented here. I would not like to, but making a table for every single product may end be the only way to work this, but I don't like that much that Idea either.

Some one of you have worked with something similar to this? If no, still any idea how to give a shape to this?

Thanks in advance.

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 09:01