DMax()? (1 Viewer)

mdcory

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 19:36
I need to get the most recent data from a coulmn that is not null. The table is dbo_SouthVariable1 and the coulmn is AIM_N7089 and the date column is Rec_Date. I tried using DMax but not getting it to work for me.
I hope you can understand this, I'm not very good at explaining what I mean. :(

Thanks...

krunalprajapati

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 06:06
what do u mean by recent data ?
means u want the last data entered.
then make ur date fileds datatype to date/time. and give it default value =Date() and the format property to that field as "dd/mm/yyyy hh:mm:ss"

then u can find out the recent data as I mean (the last data u saved), by using the max(ur date field name).

mdcory

Registered User.
Local time
Sorry, let me see if I can explain this a little better. There is data entered everyday in some fields but not the in the field that I need to find the most recent. It might have data 3 days in a row and not have any for the next 2 days, but there is a new record made everyday so for today that field might be null, and I need to find the most recent record for that field that is not null. Is that any easier, I think I confused myself.
Thanks

Ashfaque

Student
Local time
Hi,
Still confused..

Do you need to get the latest data based on date column (Rec_Date) or on AIM_N7089 ?

What I understood from your first thread is you need the latest recordset based on your one of the above column.

Example:

Let us say your column AIM_N7089 contains part_number as follows:

120-A
120-B
329-A

Do you need your query result to be as follows ?

120-B (Latest part from series 120)
329-A (Latest part from series 329) and so on..

If not this, attach your db zip with minimum records if possible.

Regards,
Ashfaque

Last edited:

mdcory

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks,

this is an example of what I have, ignore the dashes used for formatting.

Rec_Date----- AIM_N7089----- AIM_N7090----- AIM_N7091