Excel-Access Integration (1 Viewer)

md85

Local time
Today, 19:46
Hey all, have been working on designing a new database for work. They have been using Excel for their daily reports and all the data is stored in there, so I decided to have the back-end of the database in Access and the front-end in Excel, so any analytical work can be easily performed once all the data has been imported into Excel.

Now I'm fairly new to VBA, slowly getting used to using it, have written some code to transfer one of the calculated tables from Access to Excel:

Code:
[B][B]Option Explicit
Public Const DataLocation As String = "C:\Documents and Settings\Alice\Desktop\Database\TestDatabase21.accdb"
Sub Market_Update()
Call ImportFromAccessTable(DataLocation, "Final_Table", Worksheets(2).Range("A5"))
End Sub

Sub ImportFromAccessTable(DBFullName As String, TableName As String, TargetRange As Range)

Dim cn As ADODB.Connection, rs As ADODB.Recordset, intColIndex As Integer

Set TargetRange = TargetRange.Cells(1, 1)
    ' open the database
    Set cn = New ADODB.Connection
    cn.Open "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0; Data Source=" & DBFullName & ";"
    Set rs = New ADODB.Recordset
    With rs
        ' open the recordset
        ' .Open TableName, cn, adOpenStatic, adLockOptimistic, adCmdTable

' all records
        .Open "SELECT * FROM Final_Table", cn, , , adCmdText
        ' filter records

For intColIndex = 0 To rs.Fields.count - 1 ' the field names
            TargetRange.Offset(0, intColIndex).Value = rs.Fields(intColIndex).Name
        Next
        TargetRange.Offset(1, 0).CopyFromRecordset rs ' the recordset data

End With
    rs.Close
    Set rs = Nothing
    cn.Close
    Set cn = Nothing
End Sub

Sub Company_Information()

Dim companyName As String

On Error GoTo gotoError
   companyName = Application.InputBox(Prompt:="Enter Company Name", _
                           Title:="Company Name", Type:=2)

Exit Sub 'Don't execute errorhandler at end of routine
gotoError: