Solved Export to PDF and Merge Another PDF (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 13:02
Hi All,

Is there a way of exporting to PDF and then merging another PDF file to my report?

I have a code that exports my report to PDF then attaches it to an email. What I would like to do now is export it, merge it, then email the combined file.

Is this possible?

~Matt

Local time
Today, 14:02
I use PDFtk Server via commandline:
Code:
Public Function MergePDFDocuments(ByVal pdfMaster As String, ByVal pdfChild As String, ByVal pdfMerged As String) As Long
    Dim wsh As Object
    Set wsh = VBA.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
    Const pathToPDFtkExe As String = "path\to\pdftk.exe"
    Const dQuote As String = """" 'Doublequote to enclose paths in strings to escape blanks
    Dim cmd As String
    cmd = "cmd.exe /C " & dQuote & pathToPDFtkExe & dQuote & " " & dQuote & pdfMaster & dQuote & " " & dQuote & pdfChild & dQuote & " cat output " & dQuote & pdfMerged & dQuote
    Debug.Print cmd 'for debuging on a commandline
    Const windowStyleHidden As Long = 0 'hide Window
    Const waitOnReturn As Boolean = True 'wait till exec finished
    MergePDFDocuments = wsh.Run(cmd, windowStyleHidden, waitOnReturn) 'return Result 0 mean no Error, <> 0 is Error-Code
    Set wsh = Nothing
End Function

sxschech

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:02
ComputerVersteher has a great suggestion and it is free. I use pdftk Server too and it works well. Would like to add a couple of things about it.

If other people will be having their own copy of the database, you might want to add this to check if pdftk server is installed as otherwise when someone runs the merge code and doesn't have the software it won't work.

Code:
If InStr(Environ("Path"), "pdftk") = 0 Then
        MsgBox "It appears that PDF tool kit is not installed on this computer.  " & _
                "Please refer to user guide for instructions on how to install it. " & _