R Robert C Registered User. Local time Today, 21:45 Joined Mar 27, 2000 Messages 88 Dec 22, 2005 #1 Is there any way to change the default settings on the Find and Replace dialog from 'Whole field' to 'Any part of field'? Thanks very much in advance. Rob PS Happy Christmas!!
Is there any way to change the default settings on the Find and Replace dialog from 'Whole field' to 'Any part of field'? Thanks very much in advance. Rob PS Happy Christmas!!
N nateobot Registered User. Local time Today, 15:45 Joined Dec 13, 2005 Messages 86 Dec 22, 2005 #2 Tools | Options Click on Edit/Find tab. There is a section called Default find/replace behavior. Click the General search radio button.
Tools | Options Click on Edit/Find tab. There is a section called Default find/replace behavior. Click the General search radio button.
ghudson Registered User. Local time Today, 16:45 Joined Jun 8, 2002 Messages 6,194 Dec 22, 2005 #3 You can use code to do it with the Application.SetOption method. Search the Access VBA help files for the "Set Options from Visual Basic" options and you will find the one for the Default find/replace behavior.
You can use code to do it with the Application.SetOption method. Search the Access VBA help files for the "Set Options from Visual Basic" options and you will find the one for the Default find/replace behavior.
R Robert C Registered User. Local time Today, 21:45 Joined Mar 27, 2000 Messages 88 Dec 22, 2005 #4 Hi nateobot Thanks, that works to a certain extent, but it also changes the default in the 'Look in' field as well as the 'Match' field. I want to look in only one field - as defined by a SetFocus code in the on click event of the button. Cheers Rob
Hi nateobot Thanks, that works to a certain extent, but it also changes the default in the 'Look in' field as well as the 'Match' field. I want to look in only one field - as defined by a SetFocus code in the on click event of the button. Cheers Rob
N nateobot Registered User. Local time Today, 15:45 Joined Dec 13, 2005 Messages 86 Dec 22, 2005 #5 Robert C said: Hi nateobot Thanks, that works to a certain extent, but it also changes the default in the 'Look in' field as well as the 'Match' field. I want to look in only one field - as defined by a SetFocus code in the on click event of the button. Cheers Rob Click to expand... Didn't know that you wanted that extra 'functionality' based on your initial question. Can you set the focus to the textbox before calling the Find dialog? Something like: Code: Me.TextBox1.SetFocus DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdFind
Robert C said: Hi nateobot Thanks, that works to a certain extent, but it also changes the default in the 'Look in' field as well as the 'Match' field. I want to look in only one field - as defined by a SetFocus code in the on click event of the button. Cheers Rob Click to expand... Didn't know that you wanted that extra 'functionality' based on your initial question. Can you set the focus to the textbox before calling the Find dialog? Something like: Code: Me.TextBox1.SetFocus DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdFind
R Robert C Registered User. Local time Today, 21:45 Joined Mar 27, 2000 Messages 88 Dec 22, 2005 #6 Hi Nateobot No, the global Tools/Options settings seem to override any SetFocus commands in the code behind the button. I'll see if I can figure out ghudson's suggestion - not quite sure where these SetOption expressions go however!!! Thanks again Rob
Hi Nateobot No, the global Tools/Options settings seem to override any SetFocus commands in the code behind the button. I'll see if I can figure out ghudson's suggestion - not quite sure where these SetOption expressions go however!!! Thanks again Rob