Format Question (1 Viewer)

tammythack

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:40
Help! Simple format question

In a text field of a table - I know that using ">" in the format prpoerties, all the letters in a word will appear capitolized, but I want to be able to set the formating so the first letter will apear capitolized and the rest of the letters in the word are lower case, can that be done?

Thanks
Tammy

Mile-O

Back once again...
Local time
Today, 23:40
If the table is linked to a form, you might find it easier to use the StrConv function on the AfterUpdate event of your control.

i.e

txtYourTextBox = StrConv(txtYourTextBox, vbProperCase)

Mile-O

Back once again...
Local time
Damn duplicate postings.

tammythack

Registered User.
Local time
Well if you haven't guessed by now I am very new to Access...
I am suposed to create a simple table and in the design view, using the formatting properties, set it so I get the proper case.

Apoligies for the double entry, I've fixed it.

Mile-O-Phile said:
If the table is linked to a form, you might find it easier to use the StrConv function on the AfterUpdate event of your control.

i.e

txtYourTextBox = StrConv(txtYourTextBox, vbProperCase)
Well if you haven't guessed by now I am very new to Access...

tammythack

Registered User.
Local time
I tried using the code you provided, changing "TheName" to "LastName" and "FirstName" as those are the names of the fields I need to format, but it didn't work.
Perhaps I am making this more difficult than it needs to be. Here is the deal I am a begining Access student, - our teacher challenged us to create a [simple] table with a first name and a last name field, any text entered into either field should appear with the first letter of the names in upper case and the rest of the letters in lower case, no matter how it is entered.