help with adding data to multiple tables (1 Viewer)

yabai

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:46
hi, i am new to access and struggling so any help would be great...

i have a db with 3 tables. students contains a Primary Key ('studentid') and then 'firstname' and 'lastname' fields. The two other tables (contactdetails, coursedetails) have 'studentid' as a Primary Key and then they each have other fields.

I set up relationships between the tables (1 to 1) but i would now like to create a form that will allow me to enter data to all three tables at the same time. (this would be ideal as it keeps the data normalised) if this isn't possible i would like to create a form that adds the 'studentid' record to each of the tables.

let me know if you need anymore details but if someone can point me in the right direction it would be cool.

cheers

jeremie_ingram

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 22:46
You have 1-1 relationships? If so then the data from those tables should be in one table. You would not break down tables that contain unique data about 1 record so there should not be any 1-1 relationships as there should also be no many-to-many.

Double check your table structure to see what your doing. You should be able to easily add the contact details into the students table. You will need a junction table to list out which students are in which classes. If you dont have that then you will have a many-to-many on students to courses relationship (many students in each class and one student in many classes).

I have assisted an individual with a very similiar scenario, so a search of these forums may very well get you exactly what you want.

neileg

AWF VIP
Local time
StudentID should not be a primary key in your contactdetails and coursedetails tables. If it is held there at all, it will be a foreign key.

Do a search in these forums, there's plenty of stuff on the type of database you are setting up.

yabai

Registered User.
Local time