How to code Microsoft access to automatically calculate student position (1 Viewer)

Slim Shamble

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:22
Hello,

I am still new in Microsoft access database... I have a student database that automatically calculate student report card at the end of the term.... Everything is working perfectly but i dont know how to code the program to automatically calculate student position(1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th........) based on the student average in the class.

Is this possible to be done on Microsoft access?
if yes, can you be of help?

Warm reply will be appreciated
Best regard

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 08:22
This can be done with SQL (via a query) so you don't need VBA. The simplest way is with a DCount (http://www.techonthenet.com/access/functions/domain/dcount.php). Basically, you count the number of students with a higher average than the current record, for each record and add 1 to it.

If you can post sample data to demonstrate what you have I could walk you through it. Either upload your database, an excel sheet with sample data (including table/field names) or use this format for posting:

TableNameHere
Field1Name, Field2Name, Field3Name...
Sally, Math, 88
David, English, 67
Sally, English, 91
Tim, History, 79

Slim Shamble

Registered User.
Local time
Hey Thanks plog.... Can i drop it straight to your mailbox?

Cronk

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 23:22
What plog is referring to is something like

select Student, Score, DCount("Student","YourTable","Score>" & [score])+1 as position from YourTable order by Score desc;

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Yes you can, however, Cronk's code shows what I mean--it gets you 90% of the way there, you just need to replace the appropriate fields/tables with yours.

If you still need help, I will send a private message and you can reply to that.

sneuberg

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 06:22
Maybe something like:

Code: