how to open form with data from another table (1 Viewer)

drshahriyar

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:00
Dear friends

i am a novice in access. i have created a database where appointments are given to patients for some procedures. the appointment form saves data in appointment table. when the procedure is done, i have another form called the procedure form which stores data into procedures table. my problem is that i need some macro that will take data (like name, age, sex, address, tel) from the appointment form and paste it into procedure form. this way i don't have to retype so many fields again.

thanks
dr sherry

Steve R.

Retired
Local time
Today, 16:00
As a quick solution, create a query and use the query as the recordsource for your procedure form.

Mr. B

"Doctor Access"
Local time
Today, 15:00
dr sherry,

Although you can do what you have asked about doing, it would appear that you may need to look at the design of your database. You should not ever need to duplicate the information like name, age, sex, address, tel at any time. You should have this type if information in a table for Patients and have it entered only one time.

You would also then have a table for Appointments and a table for Proceedures. You would have Primary key fields in each of these tables but you would also have Foreign key fields in the Appointments and Proceedures tables to hold the Primary Key field from the Patients table to relate them to the appropriate Patient. This will create a one to many relationship between a Patient and their appointments and a Patient and their proceedures. If you would ever need to know what proceedures were performed at any specific appointment, you may also need a Foreign key field in the proceedures table to link the proceedures to an appointment.