Installation issue Windows 7 - access control (1 Viewer)

mbc

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 00:34
Hi,

I will try to keep this brief...

I created a project in access 97 years ago which is still running, making sales and is increasing each year.. I purchased and use the access developers tool kit for access 97 which takes care of the installation for me

I am not a programer by any means, just a hack, but after many years of messing about I have some knowlege.. (hence the need for the tool kit as i would not be able to do that side of it myself without that piece of software)

I installed Windows 7 on another pc to test the program.... yes it fell over (yippeee).. but I have been able to resolve all issues except for the access control settings.

I can change these manually and all works ok, but this is useless to me as I cannot work out how to have the write & modify permissions for all users when the application installs.

senario: if someone downloads the program and installs it into windows 7 (I suspect the same issue with vista and ntfs) the operating system automatically marks the 3 application files (2 x mdb and 1 x mde) without write or modify permission. So the application falls over before it can even start.

The average person on the street is not going to know or even want to change the permission settings, as they will expect to be able to download and install the software and it will work (which is how it should be)

I have spent the last 2 days reading an searching the net but I cannot find a way of fixing this issue.... maybe I am looking in the wrong areas... Obviously there is a way, can anyone help because my brain is hurting from all the strain of reading and searching...