Invalid Syntax error - Access 365 - Update to the Issue (1 Viewer)

FrHollow

Local time
Today, 09:17
I have been writing Access queries for about 30 years and I just can not figure out what the issue is. This exact same query works just fine in Access 2010.

Here is a simple example of where I am getting the error:

Tot Rep Billed to Date: iif(IsNull([Qry Sum Total replaced Billed to Date by Prin Project Pillar].[Total Rep Billed to Date], 0, [Qry Sum Total replaced Billed to Date by Prin Project Pillar].[Total Rep Billed to Date])

The query "Qry Sum Total Replaced Billed to Date by Prin Project Pillar" is included in the tables on the top half of the screen. The Invalid Syntax error highlights the third parameter of the iif statement. I also tried it without using the explicit query name in front of the field name. Neither works.

What am I missing? Are my query and field names too long? They have never been before!

Thank you in advance!
Joanne

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Today, 06:17
One middle parenthesis?

FrHollow

Local time
Ha! I see that now, thanks Isaac.

But even when I fix that, I still get the same error on the third parameter:

Tot Rep Billed to Date: iif(IsNull([Qry Sum Total replaced Billed to Date by Prin Project Pillar].[Total Rep Billed to Date]), 0, [Qry Sum Total replaced Billed to Date by Prin Project Pillar].[Total Rep Billed to Date])

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Do you get the error when you first Tab out of the field you are typing in, or later when the query runs?

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Hmm. I cannot reproduce your error. (see attached).
I'm also on 365

Attachments

• Testing 20200707.accdb
    404 KB · Views: 115

FrHollow

Local time