Is Access what I need? (1 Viewer)

Inga

Local time
Today, 18:42
I'm a complete newbie to Access, and I have no idea if it is what I should be using or not. Before I spend a lot of time learning and building a database, I was hoping I could get some feedback on if Access is the correct program to use. Basically, I'm currently using Excel to calculate my monthly Payouts for about 500 consignment vendors. We use Quickbooks POS which can export their total sales for a given period into excel which I then use to determine how much to pay them, what payment method they get paid by, if anything was owed to them from a previous month, if they owe us anything, etc.
Excel works for me, the issue I'm having is that as it is, I'm the only person that can use my excel payout. It becomes very complicated trying to show someone else what you import where etc., and there are lots of opportunities for mistakes. I'm hoping that Access will solve that problem. I was thinking I could have the Vendor information (tax status, payment method etc) as a table, import the vendor sales into another table and then have access create a report that says if Vendor A has 2 payment methods, pick method 1 if less than x amount and method 2 if not. If Vendor B is VAT registered, add X% VAT. I use a lot of vlookup(iferror) formulas in my program right now.
I basically want that anyone can export the vendor sales from our POS and import them into Access, and then just pull saved reports for payment method.
I hope that was clear enough.. and no too long winded. I can post a sample of my excel file if needed, but would need to clean up the file first which I've not got the time for as I'm supposed to be calculating the payouts right now!
Thanks!

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Today, 11:42
You can do a ton of automation in Excel to make this much easier for others to use and provide a nice user interface. But that would take time to learn too.