tblGroup:

Group_Id (PK) | Group_Name

tblSubGroup:

SubGroup_Id (PK) | Group_Id (FK) | SubGroup_Name

tblProductType:

ProductType_Id (PK) | SubGroup_Id (FK) | ProductType_Name

tblProduct:

Product_Id (PK) | ProductType_Id (FK) | Product_Name

I need to select a single Product_Name (first one which appear alphabetically) from tblProducts given a Group_Id.

Is this possible? Presumably I need to join the tables in between?

If anyone can help with this it would be much appreciated, thanks...

danb

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 06:44
Hmm... so I don't need to JOIN the tables? I've never used UNION before.

RuralGuy

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 23:44
Dan,
In your case you will need to join the tables. Have you played in the Query Builder yet? Put your tables in the grid and join them and add your criteria and then look at the DataSheet view to see what you get.

danb

Registered User.
Local time
Having just read http://www.w3schools.com/sql/sql_union.asp it seems that UNION is to select values from different tables. This isn't what I want. I need to select a value from the tblProduct table where the product belongs only to a particular group (I will pass Group_Id into the select statement). I'm pretty sure I'm going to have to use joins for this no?

Anyone know how to perform a join on these four tables to get the Product_Name based on GroupId?

Thanks for your help

danb

Registered User.
Local time
I had this quite recently, where someone tried to point me in the direction of querybuilder (which which I'm totally unfamiliar). Thanks for suggesting this, but I really just need a SQL select statement which I can use in my ASP page to select the data from the Access tables.

I honestly don't have time to get to grips with querybuilder at the moment.

RuralGuy

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 23:44
The QueryBuilder is *very* easy to work with and once you get the results you desire you switch to SQL view and just copy it.

danb

Registered User.
Local time