Joining/looking up data from various tables to create new table (1 Viewer)

mattadams84

Local time
Today, 14:59
Hello,

I am a complete newbie to access, i believe the last time i used it was probably in 1997. I am looking for some advice/help.

I have created a database that pulls in data from an excel file which in turn is connected to a web API. I have sucessfuly created linked tables in access.

I am trying to create a database that would output a list of of football match fixtures with the prematch stats of the match.

In excel i have an API that successfully pulls in data (the statistics) across multiple different sheets (1 sheet per league). Each league statistics sheet has the teams of that league in the rows and then many columns which contain statistics for the team's home matches, away matches, and some other stats that excel calculates.

Each league has a unique numerical ID and each team has a unique numerical ID.

I then have another sheet that pulls in via the API a list of todays fixtures. Each fixture is on its own row and the columns contain data including the unique team ID's and the unique league ID. What l would like to achieve is to dynamically/automatically create a whole new table that has this list of the fixtures but also shows the correlating stats of each team. So I guess by using the ID's of the teams from the "todays fixture" sheet is searches through all of the other tables, finds the relevant data and then generates a new table with all the fixtures and stats. Obviously it would need to work out who is playing at home and who away so it finds the relevant stats. I basically want to merge various pieces of information from different tables in a new unique table which i could then export to an excel file.

I have no idea how to create this, i started playing with queries but got completely lost.

Is this possible in access? Is it difficult?

Kind regards

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:59