Known problem with Filter in SR-1 (1 Viewer)

Susan Allen Wyoming

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:11
Joined
Feb 15, 2001
Messages
22
I have been working with Microsoft on a search form and they discovered that there is an bug in the filter that was created with the SR-1 release of Access 2000. The problem doesn't exist without SR-1.

They gave me a work around, but it doesn't work. Go figure.

I'm at home right now, but can give anybody who wants it, more information when I get to work.

Hope this helps anybody who has been banging their head against the wall over a filter.

Sue
 

KevinM

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:11
Joined
Jun 15, 2000
Messages
719
Susan

I came across this filter problem recently.
I would appreciate it if you could send me any info you have.

Thanks
 

zunan

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:11
Joined
Mar 16, 2001
Messages
27
I have recently submitted a question that I would greatly appreciate you taking a look at. The topic is "Access 2000 Runtime Search Problem" under my name "zunan". This problem is specifically "Filter" related. Thanks much, in advance. Just once, I'd like to find out that the problem is Microsoft's and not my lack of knowledge.
 

Rich@ITTC

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:11
Joined
Jul 13, 2000
Messages
237
Hi Sue

Could you send me the details that you have on this issue.

richgorvin@freeuk.com

Thanks

Rich Gorvin

[This message has been edited by Rich@ITTC (edited 03-23-2001).]
 

Susan Allen Wyoming

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:11
Joined
Feb 15, 2001
Messages
22
Here are the case notes from my case with Microsoft regarding filter problems.

Hope this sheds some light.

Sue
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Hi Susan,

Good news! I discovered why you were having the problem and why I wasn't.
But, more importantly, we have a workaround to this ApplyFilter bug that was
introduced with SR-1. My machine's Office 2000 was never upgraded to SR-1,
though my other machines were. Once I tried your mdb on another (SR-1)
machine, I kept getting Miracle Gro! The following article describes the
problem and provides a workaround which I have put in the code we created
yesterday. Because this is a bug, your Access incidents will not be
decremented for this issue.

Q269380 ACC2000: ApplyFilter Macro Behaves Differently After SR-1 http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q269/3/80.asp

Workaround:

Private Sub cmdFind_Click()
Dim strFilter As String
'
'This method of filtering is necessary because of a
'bug that was introduced with SR-1. Rf. Q269380
'
Me.Filter = ""
Me.FilterOn = False
strFilter = "([CatID] like '*" & Me.SearchCat & "*' "
strFilter = strFilter & " or forms!frmProd!SearchCat is null)"
strFilter = strFilter & " and ([descripname] like '*" & Me.SearchName & "*'"
strFilter = strFilter & " or forms!frmProd!SearchName is null)"
Me.FilterOn = True
Me.Filter = strFilter
End Sub

Let me know if this works for you, and I will go ahead and close the case.
Thanks.
 

zunan

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:11
Joined
Mar 16, 2001
Messages
27
I have communicated with Susan about this and I believe I've found a work around. My form is a continuous form of all the records in a table. At the top of each column I've put a combo box that used the "DoCmd.ApplyFilter" in the "AfterUpdate" event of each combo box. I believe this filter bug was having a hay-day with my form. I removed the record source SQL statement from the property sheet and placed it into the module in the "Open" event and the "Show All Records" command button. I then wrote a separate SQL with an appropriate "WHERE" clause for each combo box and put it into the "AfterUpdate" event of each cboBox as the record source of the form. This way there are no filters in the form at all but it works as if there is. The only thing I haven't tested yet is if it will work in the runtime version.
 

zunan

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:11
Joined
Mar 16, 2001
Messages
27
I've tested this work-aound in runtime and it works.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom