Laboratory work table linked to an alert table one to many join help (1 Viewer)

crazy_ivan_1

Local time
Today, 15:56
Hi all,

I am currently building a labwork tracking database.

In my main tracking table I have a.
ID(autonumber) - PK
patient_appt (date) - PK
patient_name (text) - PK
clinician (text) - PK
laboratory (text) - PK

I may not need that many primary keys, but I am new to access and I think they are required here to minimise duplication. THere are other data fields, but they are used primarily for querying dates and keeping track of storage areas.

What I am trying to do is have an alert table where if there are any issues associated with a particular patient they can be logged by date and a text description. So 1 patient connected to one ID number can be linked to multiple alert dates and text descriptions that are stored in a separate table.

I cannot figure our how to use primary keys and foreign keys to create the second table so that it is a one to many relationship that I can view multiple logged issues for 1 patient.

Thanks for any advice or guidance

Cheers

Andrew

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 21:56
You only need one PK - the autonumber ID.

Can set a compound index with the other 4 fields to prevent duplicate combinations.

Have a field in log table to hold PatientID as FK

Build a form/subform arrangement with link on PK and FK fields.

crazy_ivan_1

Local time
Hi June7 and jdraw,

I did what June recommended and actually found the weblink jdraw mentioned.

I found that using the composite indexes actually created more issues and I realised that I didnt need that many unique fields.

So I restricted the PK to just the autonumber in the main table

In my issues table i have the autonumber as the PK
I have patientID as a field with no PK
alertinfo
alertdate

In my forms when I call the issues form and I try and do the ID=patientID transfer to link the records but I cannot create more than 1 record per patient ID