Move Access backend database tables to SQL (1 Viewer)

Snowflake68

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:03
I have an Access application that is linked to some tables in an existing SQL database plus another 148 local tables in a separate backend Access databasae. I would like to move the backend Access tables to the SQL database and then link them back to my application in the hope that the SQL tables will pull the data back quicker than the backend Access one (it is fairly labour intensive).

My question is what is the easiest quickest way to create the tables in SQL and populate them with the data? I have some knowledge of the SQL management studio but very basic SQL coding skills so any help with this is very much appreciated.

Some of my Access tables have fields that are yes/no tick boxes and I know I wont be able to create those in SQL so I will leave those tables in the backend Access database.

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
There isn't a short quick answer to your question.
There is (was) a migration assistant that will do most of the leg work for you.
And you can use Bit fields but you need to ensure that they are all set to allow nulls = no as that is the thing that trips Access/SQL up.

Have a read here https://www.fmsinc.com/microsoftaccess/SQLServerUpsizing/how/index.htm

Bear in mind that performance improvements aren't a given, you may need to do some leg work to get operational increases in speed.

Snowflake68

Registered User.
Local time
There isn't a short quick answer to your question.
There is (was) a migration assistant that will do most of the leg work for you.
And you can use Bit fields but you need to ensure that they are all set to allow nulls = no as that is the thing that trips Access/SQL up.

Have a read here https://www.fmsinc.com/microsoftaccess/SQLServerUpsizing/how/index.htm

Bear in mind that performance improvements aren't a given, you may need to do some leg work to get operational increases in speed.