Mysql connection (1 Viewer)

ionutp23

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 06:25
Hi i'm new to vb and dont know to much any way i found a working mysql connection with vb (Code) i dont know how to explain better but what i need is
to add mysql details in my.settings which works fine like my.settings.server ,my.settings.user,my.settings.password,my.settings.db then use like this

GetSQLConnection = New MySqlConnection("datasource=my.settings.server;USER=my.settings.user;password=my.settings.password") but dont work.

i would appreciate any help even with teamviewer.

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
If I understand correctly, concatenate the values:

"datasource=" & my.settings.server & ";USE R=" & my.settings.user & ";password=" & my.settings.password

ionutp23

Registered User.
Local time
If I understand correctly, concatenate the values:

"datasource=" & my.settings.server & ";USE R=" & my.settings.user & ";password=" & my.settings.password

Thank you now i get this error
Error 1 Comma, ')', or a valid expression continuation expected. C:\Users\Ionut\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\RoTV LIVE - Copy\RoTV LIVE\modFunctions.vb 30 157 RoTV LIVE

Public Function GetSQLConnection() As MySqlConnection
GetSQLConnection = New MySqlConnection("datasource=" & my.settings.dbserver & ";USE R=" & my.settings.dbuser & ";password=" & my.settings.dbpassword")

GetSQLConnection.Open()
End Function

ionutp23

Registered User.
Local time
Use a variable for the connection string and then use this so you can see how it's coming out:

thank you works resolved by adding one more at ther end "")

i see you are a good expert Thank you. will be ok if i may ask for your hel with next problems?

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time