Need help with a query to alter data (1 Viewer)

tragik

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 17:53
Hello everyone, I am a complete noob with access and I am on access 2007.
I am building a database to archive my 10 years worth of magazines. This also includes scanning each article and a hyperlink to them from the local pc.

Here is my issue: Do to my lack of proper planning my image file structure is getting out of hand. My current folder structure is access/magazine/images/FS11_8/*.jpg (FS11_8 is the magazine FS, the volume 11 and issue 8). Now, with 10 years worth (3 different subcriptions, so 30 years worth) this is going to be quite large. I want to change this to access/images/FS/11/8/*.jpg, this way the magazine subcription will have it's own folder (seperating the 3), the volume would hold its issues rather than have one folder (/Images) hold 30 years worth of magazines (est: 300). See my goal. * I am only 38 magazine issues into this project and want to get this fixed before I go any farther.

Now to the point: I have several tables but I need help getting started to change the hyperlink field in a table through a query (maybe?)..
for example: Magazine table
[tblMagazine]
Magazine_ID;Magazine_Title;Magazine_Month;Magazine_Year;Volume;Issue;Cover_Image

Cover_Image is where i need to change the data.. I understand I may only be able to one magazine volume/issue at a time. Each volume/issue could have up to 40 articles i have logged.

Example: Cover_Image:Magazine\Images\FineScale15_7\FineScale15_7.jpg needs to be changed to Images\FS\15\7\Finescale15_7.jpg

Now, please could you direct me in the right direct to find this out? Do I need to build something like replace with Images\FS\15\7\* (* being something i dont want to change)

Even if it only can change that magazine issue (which could include 40 entries) it would faster than me re-directing the hyperlink.

I hope i make sense..

Thank you for your time.
sean

HiTechCoach

Local time
Yesterday, 19:53