newbie question: two actions for a command button (1 Viewer)

Cyberslam

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 12:28
Hi all,

I am really new to designing forms in Access and something came up while designing one.

I have a form with different fields and theres a command button(save record) whose action is to save the record but i want to add another action to the same button which will open up a form.

Is this possible? If yes, how?

Thanks

M

Mike375

With either code or macro you can have heaps and heaps of actions occurring one after the other and opening a form is one of them.

However, you won't be able to do that from the Command button wizard. You gotta make 'em yourself:)

Code opens a form with

DoCmd.OpenForm "FormName", acNormal, "", "", , acNormal

For a macro use OpenForm action.

That should get you going.

Cyberslam

Registered User.
Local time
With either code or macro you can have heaps and heaps of actions occurring one after the other and opening a form is one of them.

However, you won't be able to do that from the Command button wizard. You gotta make 'em yourself:)

Code opens a form with

For a macro use OpenForm action.

That should get you going.

Thanks Mike for replying.

So you mean i add two actions i.e.save & open form in a macro and then add the command button as a macro. Is it correct?

M

Mike375

No. The Command button is just one thing that can run code or a macro.

Go into form design and click on your button with the right clicker and then Properties and then Events. All those events you see will run code or a macro. You see things like OnClick (Obvious) LostFocus and so on.

If you right click on one of your fields in form design you will see it also has lots of events. If you make a label from the tool box (as distinct from a label that shows when you drag a field to the form) that also has lots of events. If you right click on the area of form design that is outside your actual form you will again see lots of events.