Novice Re-organizing a database/query issues (1 Viewer)

courageouscat

Local time
Today, 02:18
Re-organizing a database/query issues

Hi there everyone. I am a novice working in Access 2007, with a lot of interest and a basic knowledge of how databases work. I work for an educational organization and I have an old database that has Customer Information (contact info such as name, address, etc.), Subscription Information (where the customer purchases written publications on an annual basis, and can subscribe to many publications) and Mailing Lists (Based on Commodities that the Customers have; they can be on many Mailing Lists and my original Mailing Lists table had sub-categories). I was restricted in my queries due to permissions granted by the original owner, who is no longer employed at the organization, to queries on queries because I could not get permission to access the actual Tables in the front-end of a split database. I have collected the data (via query) from the old database (into several excel worksheets, which was only option that worked based on it’s size and my permissions) and then imported the data into tables into a new database.

Here are two of the current tables I am having the most problem with:

Customer Table
Tbl_Customers
-PK CustomerID (When I imported I had access choose this)
-MasterID (which appears to be the PK in the original Customers table, and is used as a FK in the other two tables)
-Enroll Letter (Key for only me to use to distinguish similar names)
-Company Name
-Other contact information

Original Mailing List Table:
(There are about 60 mailing lists, and many of them have at least 3 subcategories.)
Tbl_MailingLists
-MailingListID (Original PK, but not designated as such when I imported;)
-MasterID
-MailingList (the name of the category of the commodity they have)
-MLSubCat (name of the commodity they have;)
-StartDate
-EndDate
-DateEntered
-MLNotes