Open a different form using current record (1 Viewer)

cjmitton

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 03:42
I'm new to Access 2010 and creating a business contact DB so eventually people can merge letters from it.

I've started by putting a data input form together and various forms to update which all work fine.

The next part I'm struggling with though, When I create a new business I then want to give the choice to add some contacts, I have both forms ready I just need to link them up using the current saved business (just entered in) to the new form where they can add on the relevent contacts.

All the Database works fine and I have a form with a sub form to view / adjust the business with the various contacts. I just want to make the 'creation' of busibness and contacts a bit slicker!

I hope that makes sense!

John Big Booty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 12:42
Welcome to the forum.

You can use the OpenArgs portion of the OpenForm command to pass information between the calling form and the form being opened.

Have a look at the attached for an example of how this might work. Check the On Double Click event of the Combo Box, and the On Load event of the called form.

Attachments

• Double Click to Add Record.zip
    35.7 KB · Views: 551

missinglinq

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 22:42
...When I create a new business I then want to give the choice to add some contacts, I have both forms ready I just need to link them up using the current saved business (just entered in) to the new form where they can add on the relevent contacts.
You're talking about a 1:Many relationship here, 1 New Business to any number of Contacts. This is the classical scenario that uses a SubForm Control!

The form for entering new businesses would be the main form while the form for adding contacts would be the subform.