Parameter in Combo box (1 Viewer)

Full_Williams

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:18
Hi there,

I have a subform that I'm using and on it I have a combo box (cmbAgencyID) where I select an agency. So what I want to be able to do is select an employee based on the agency chosen in another combo box (cmbEmployee). So each agency has a say 5-6 employees working for them.

I've pointed the cmbEmployee to look at the agency chosen, but for some reason the employees are not showing up in the cmbEmployee. I've included the subform in the Parameters ([forms]![frmMain]![frmSub].[form]![cmbAgencyID]), but this isn't working.

Any thoughts on how I could get this to work would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Full Williams

Adrianna

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 23:18
Hi Neighbor. I'm not really sure why you're having the problem. It seems pretty simple. Have you thought about placing a Refresh command to the OnChange Event of the first combo box.

From what I understand you allow the user to make a selection from the first combobox, then your query runs on cmbAgencyID and cmbEmployee, only making cmbEmployee.visible

WHERE(in the Criteria line...leaving off WHERE) cmbAgencyID = Forms!frmMain!cmbAgencyID

Assuming that your list box for cmbAgencyID is named cmbAgencyID and not List#

If you've tried exactly that.....and it's still not working you can always post a small zip of the database and someone (if I don't get to it first) will try to fix it and post it back!

Alexandre

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:18
Plus, if you want combos to keep synchro when the user switches between records, you will have to refresh combo2 also from the OnCurrent event of your form

Full_Williams

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks for the quick replys.