Solved Pass-through queries in SQL server (2 Viewers)

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 12:52
I find it unlikely that even the simple queries will not need additional editing for sql server
The vast majority of my applications use SQL Server, DB2, Oracle, etc. as the BE. The BE RDBMS depends on what the client currently supports for their other applications.

Applications I design with ACE tables initially convert cleanly to SQL Server in an afternoon because I use good client/server practices when I build the application whether I intend to convert it in a month or maybe never. The only reason it takes a few hours rather than minutes for the conversion is because extensive testing is required to ensure that nothing is missing in the code.

In all the years I've been using Access since 1993, I can count on one hand the number of unbound forms I needed to create and on two hands the number of reports that needed stored procedures to make them efficient. Usually, the biggest change is adding a View to make joins more efficient. Using a view doesn't make the query not updateable so there is no problem with keeping your forms bound.

Some queries like bulk deletes, should always be pass through because The transaction Access surrounds them in adds a lot of overhead. Using a pass through query eliminates that overhead so you won't get the question at the end. Do you want to delete x records? They're just gone. Certainly less safe but also significantly faster. Better still, if you are deleting all rows, just use Truncate instead. Happens n a blink.

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Today, 09:52