Performing a query based on form entry (1 Viewer)

llgreen

Local time
Yesterday, 22:50
Hi there!

I'm relatively new to Access, but I'm currently developing a database for a charity I volunteer with that supports disabled adults and children.

I have a table which contains the following fields:
-Date of birth

As we frequently have to report statistics based on these three areas to our funders, I was wondering how I could develop a pop-up 'search-like' form where I could search for certain information: e.g. number of male and female service users between the age of 12 and 18 with autism; or a pie chart showing the distribution of conditions for all service users aged 25 and over.

I'd hope that a report of some sort could be generated from this information and shown in a form.

I understand this might be based on queries, but also, if possible, I'd like query information to be deleted after the user finishes their search.

If anybody could offer any advice or assistance, that would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Ranman256

Local time
Today, 01:50
you really need 2 tables:
tPerson
-PersonID
-Date of birth
and tCondition
-PersonID
-Condition

this way you can search on conditions.
make a base query on tPersons to calculate age, qsPersons:
select *,DateDiff("yyyy", pvBirth, Date) as AGE from tPersons

then use qsPersons to grab what you want, ie, females betweeen 12 and 18.
if you want to know conditions, make another query from qsPersons, say qsPersonCondions by joining tConditions to the qsPersons query.

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 00:50
I suggest you pick one thing and work towards it--your initial post was kind of scattered on what exactly it is you wanted to accomplish. I also suggest that one thing be a report, not a chart--dynamic reports are intermediate- level stuff in Access, non-dynamic charts are just a little harder than that.