Random Number Generator (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

velcrowe

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 18:25
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
86
I would like to create a simple access program to assign locker numbers between 1 and 750 to employees. Whenever I want to give an employee a new locker number, I would like to click a button to assign them a new number and then enter the date of the assignment. Is this possible and simple?:rolleyes:
 

velcrowe

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 18:25
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
86
Thanks. To edit my last question. I have 100 persons who have lockers. I want to randomly pick five men and five women for locker inspections. Would the Rnd() function apply these sets of data? Can I randomly select five non-repeating men or women?
 
Last edited:

MStCyr

New member
Local time
Today, 18:25
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
333
The following function will do that for you..


Function FindRandom (RecordSetName As String, Fieldname As String)
Dim MyDB As Database
Dim MyRS As Recordset
Dim SpecificRecord As Long, i As Long, NumOfRecords As Long

Set MyDB = CurrentDB()
Set MyRS = MyDB.OpenRecordset(RecordSetName, DB_Open_Dynaset)
On Error GoTo NoRecords
MyRS.MoveLast
NumOfRecords = MyRS.RecordCount
SpecificRecord = Int(NumOfRecords * Rnd)
If SpecificRecord = NumOfRecords Then
SpecificRecord = SpecificRecord - 1
End If
MyRS.MoveFirst
For i = 1 To SpecificRecord
MyRS.MoveNext
Next i
FindRandom = MyRS(Fieldname)

Exit Function
NoRecords:
If Err = 3021 Then
MsgBox "There Are No Records In The Dynaset", 16, "Error"
Else
MsgBox "Error - " & Err & Chr$(13) & Chr$(10) & Error, _
16, "Error"
End If
FindRandom = "No Records"
Exit Function
End Function
 

velcrowe

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 18:25
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
86
Random Generator

I am using only three fields...locker number, name, and date(to keep track of query run date) on my table, query, and form.

Should I place this code in the General Declaration of the form and do I need a requer command button to run on instance from the form?
 

MStCyr

New member
Local time
Today, 18:25
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
333
yes, this code definitely goes into a module
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom