Save Button (1 Viewer)

Zany

Local time
Today, 06:19
Hi Guys,

I am new to using access. I have finally after 5 hours created a database and a form. All my combo Box and other necessary buttons are all good. But I want the user form to have a save button. Please anyone can provide me the basic step. The user form feeds the database system so its a bound Data I guess.

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Today, 01:19
In Access there is never a need for a save button, since it will always happen on its on. In fact it is pretty hard to stop it from saving. If anything you need an "un save" button to keep it from saving. Explain in more detail what you want and why.
This is done in the form's before update event. That is the point at which you can Cancel a record from updating.

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Yesterday, 22:19
Some more discussions, approaches etc

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 00:19
While MajP is absolutely correct, there IS an easy way to do this.

The SAVE button can be created in Form Design if you have the button wizards turned on. Create a command button. The button wizards will let you create any of several different functions. For Record Operations, one of the options is Save Record. Let the wizard build it for you.

You didn't say which version of Access you are using. On Ac2010, in Form Design view, you can find the Design tab (next to the Arrange and Format tabs). On the ribbon when the Design tab is selected, near the center you have the various controls you can place on the form. At the right-hand end of the box containing the controls, there is a place where you COULD have a vertical scroll bar if you needed one, and at the bottom of that scroll bar is a down-pointing arrow. Click that to see the option to turn wizard on or off.

Zany

Local time
Today, 06:19
While MajP is absolutely correct, there IS an easy way to do this.