Save file in specific location (1 Viewer)

Bumi66

Local time
Today, 01:47
I'm trying to save a file in a specific location on my hard drive.
The location should be m:\Order acknowledgment\Customer name\Order number.pdf

The customer name is in a field in my form "match" this varies
also the Order number is in a field in the form under "Order number"

This is my Code but it doesn't work

Private Sub Command240_Click()
Dim Match As String

DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, "Order Confirmation", acFormatPDF, "m:\Order acknowledgement\" " str.Match "\" & Me.Order number & ".pdf", True

End Sub

What did I do wrong I'm new to VBA please help

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 06:47
Create a couple of strings and break this down into sensible steps so you can see what is happening.

Code:
Dim sTopPath as String
Dim sCust       as String
Dim sOrdNo   as String
Dim sFullPath as string

sTopPath ="M:\Order acknowledgement\"
sCust = Me.CustomerName   ' Where Customername is the name of the control on your form
sOrdNo = Me.OrderNumber 

sFullPath = sTopPath & sCust & "\" & sOrdNo & ".pdf"

Debug.print sFullPath            ' You can see this in the immediate window in the VBA editor - press ctrl + G to view it

DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, "Order Confirmation", acFormatPDF, sFullPath , True

Always put concatenated strings into a separate string to help with debugging.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:47
Hi. The first thing I would recommend is to add Option Explicit at the top of your Module.

Bumi66

Local time
Create a couple of strings and break this down into sensible steps so you can see what is happening.

Code:
Dim sTopPath as String
Dim sOrdNo   as String
Dim sFullPath as string

sCust = Me.CustomerName   ' Where Customername is the name of the control on your form
sOrdNo = Me.OrderNumber

Debug.print sFullPath            ' You can see this in the immediate window in the VBA editor - press ctrl + G to view it